Learn eFileTLSMigration

TLS Migration

On September 15, 2019 the Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority eFile and eFile Registry websites will discontinue support for TLS versions 1.0 and 1.1 requiring TLS 1.2. This will affect calls to the various provided web based APIs and will prevent certain older, out-of-date browsers from working on our websites.

Why are we making this change?

This change is being made to enhance the security of our website in order to better protect your personal and financial information. The change is also mandated by the PCI Security Standards Council and affects anyone processing or transmitting credit card data. The PCI Security Standards Council determines what technology is acceptable for use in transmitting financial data, and have determined early SSL/TLS methods no longer acceptable as a means of encrypting data due to security vulnerabilities. PCI DSS standard version 3.2 makes all older TLS versions (e.g. SSL v3, TLS 1.0, TLS 1.1) non-compliant.

More information regarding PCI security standards:

What is TLS?

TLS stands for “Transport Layer Security.” It is the successor to SSL and provides privacy and data integrity between two communicating applications. It is used to authenticate, and protect the confidentiality and integrity of information that passes between them.

How to know if you're affected:

All calls to the eFile web services and eFile Registry web services will require the connection be made over TLS 1.2. This includes, but is not limited to, submission of real estate and civil filings, acceptance and rejection of real estate and civil filings, and participant ID queries that occur through API calls.

Most browsers have supported TLS for the last few years. Most end-users are unlikely to be affected by this change, however users with old devices or operating systems may need to re-configure their browser to accept TLS 1.2 or upgrade your browser to the latest version.

Common supported browsers:

  • Google Chrome: v30 and later
  • Firefox: v27 and later
  • Microsoft Edge, and IE11 and later
  • Apple Safari 9 and later

A comprehensive list of compatible browsers is available here:

Test your browser: